I Shall Not Fear

I shall not fear
Fear can’t linger here
Here within my soul
My soul that once was cajoled
Cajoled by death and sin
Sin which Jesus battled to win
Win, He did, defeated the serpent
Serpent who had me in chains, now sent
Sent away, no longer having power
Power to make me cower
Cower, shake and shiver
Shiver – no, I shall not fear


Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (Isaiah 41:10 ESV)

Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you. (First Peter 5:6-7)

In peace I will both lie down and sleep, For You alone, O LORD, make me to dwell in safety. (Psalm 4:8 NASB)

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.  (First John 4:18 KJV)

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. (Psalm 23:4 KJV)

I sought the LORD, and He heard me and delivered me from all my fears. (Psalm 34:4 KJV)

When I am afraid, I put my trust in You. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. (Psalm 56:4 NASB)


The Hemingway Rewritten theme is now live! And I added Recent Comments and Most Liked widgets at the bottom, along with the Goodreads widget. 😀 On the sidebar (YAAAY I like the sidebar already! XD), I put the widgets that I thought would be used most plus added a Follow Me thing so you can find me on Pinterest, Goodreads, and Duolingo! 😀

Funny story: This is not the poem that I mentioned in my previous post. Turns out, God had other poem plans. I believe this is called the Anadiplosis poem style, and it also starts and ends with the same line, which I think has a name but I forgot what it was. 😅 A few days ago, when I was finally starting to get better, I had a panic attack. It really felt like I was going to die. A friend suggested that I order the fear away, which I had not tried before, and it worked. Praise Jesus! His name is powerful! (The same friend sent me the first three verses up there during that attack – thank you! 😊) So that’s where this poem came from.  I also realized that I was letting fear rule almost everything that I do. I almost didn’t start this blog in April of 2016 because I was afraid. I almost stopped posting because I’m so shy that talking to people was causing me fear. I was hesitant to change my theme because I was afraid I’d wreck my blog. And that’s the tip of the iceberg. But… “I am no longer a slave to fear, I AM A CHILD OF GOD!” (No Longer Slaves – Voices Of Lee. They are amazing. Click below to listen!)

46 thoughts on “I Shall Not Fear

  1. You wanna know the greatest thing ever? That song is playing right now in my kitchen (yes there’s a radio in my kitchen I said it😂) as I read/comment on this post!!! Lol! Isn’t God awesome? Ha! Blessed post indeed! I had major experiences and battles with my fears but God help me overcome those fears, I still struggle with it a little but he’s working it out in Jesus Name because I AM A CHILD OF GOD! btw us that the moth that was birthed in your backyard who flew away and never came back to visit you at the inception of your poem? 😂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Isn’t this just the most inspiring, full of hope, and praise post! Wow! I thought the poem was great, and then as I read further, WOW! All that fear, tricks of the devil. All the people who would not be blessed if you had remained in that fear but praise God you followed Him, and now we are all reaping the blessings! God Bless you. I pray for your continued strength in God. He fights for you, His beloved child.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for sharing this beautiful story, Grace! ❤ I'm so happy you're doing better now – there is power in the Name!!!! ❤ I love that style of poetry you chose for that poem, it flows so nicely and is quite unique. (There are so many poetry styles, which is really cool!) I love the pic you shared to go with the post, as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Today’s thought “All the days of my life and …” (January 11) – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

  5. That is amazing! Praise God. 🙂 I’ve enjoyed the video, of course. But when you mentioned how “… a friend told you to order your fear away”, I never had thought of doing that myself as well. That’s something that I need to do as well, pray about, and try myself. This is a remarkable entry. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I needed this. I’m in Denver serving at a homeless shelter awake at 3:30 am having the most honest prayer time with God. Confessing sins, fears realized, begging God to return to me the joy of my salvation. I had run aground in prayer and quoted the 23rd Psalm. Had a notification on my blog come up and saw that it was you that had liked my post about God not fixing things. I needed the passages you posted. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Broken Heart’s Embrace (Poem) & An Update On Life (January 17, 2018) | Following Him Beside Still Waters

  8. I love the Hemingway Theme… and your poem is incredible! I LOVE it! Your blog is such a blessing to me! Yes, the name of Jesus is incredibly powerful! So happy that you took those thoughts and the panic captive in His name! I praise God for your victory! Hip, hip hooray! ❤ and hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Memorizing wonderfully – Additional verses: Psalm 34 Tasting and blessing Jehovah God – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

  10. Pingback: Today’s thought “Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good” (January 17) – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.