The Dangers of Flirting With Sin

(Part one, the poem, can be found here. This is part two but you don’t have to read part one to understand this one.)

Until last year, I didn’t put too much stock in God still using dreams and visions to reach people. But then… I had a dream myself. I wasn’t sure what to do with this besides heeding the warning it gave.

Fast forward to now.

I had two people reach out to me in which they had a specific dream/vision about me. I don’t want to disclose a lot of details because it’s pretty clear it was directed at me.  However, they were accurate.

What this led to were several things. There are things I’ve been struggling a bit with. As you probably know, I’m more private with things like this, so this is what I do want to share.

Firstly, there was a YouTuber I liked that started making darker videos for some reason. I love autumn but this is the season in which it’s easier for me to struggle. I think he was doing it “all in fun” but I didn’t care to see all the spooky Halloween displays, and then…

Then this person live-streamed a seance.

It became clear – I had to unsubscribe from the channel. It may look harmless, flirting with sin and spooky seances and such but it’s not a joke to mess with the dead.  (Deuteronomy 18:10, Isaiah 8:19) This wasn’t too hard for me. I did it, and it didn’t sting too much. But there was another area I needed to address.

When I posted the Life Updates and Gaming post, I didn’t remove the game app I was addicted to, that had a blatant sin in the plotline. I only off-loaded the app. It gave me a sense of security to still have it so that I could put it back on someday if I wanted to. Why was I finding security in potentially going back to playing this gaming app? I hadn’t even played it since April. I shouldn’t be attached to it. And yet, I never did get rid of it.

I was still clinging to that sin.

Hearing the first dream, I knew there were things I was clinging to. I wasn’t actually doing anything with the game, so I used that as an excuse that it couldn’t be that. But there were other things I was struggling with. Thought it could be something else. With the second vision, the message came in right in the middle listening to this podcast: Stop Playing In The Shadow Of Sin (which I highly recommend by the way). I don’t think it was a coincidence.

I immediately got on my iPod and completely removed the app.

For the other things, there will be a bit of time to work that out – not as easy as removing an app or unsubscribing from a channel. But it’s not worth flirting with sin. Temptation is what got Eve in trouble. Flirting with sin instead of being firm with it resulted in the fall.

It may look safe to only flirt, but desensitizing can happen. Then it’s easy when sin extends its hand to take it and let him lead to full-on sin.

However, we have Jesus’ hand to grab hold of instead!

15 thoughts on “The Dangers of Flirting With Sin

  1. As a former addict I applaud your words. I can’t even allow myself to even consider certain things as it is a very slippery slope once triggered. Staying away from sin means, at least for me, staying far away from anything that is even remotely close to the issue I have dealt with for many years.

    Jesus has taken years to teach me where my weaknesses are and has trained me to be ruthless in dealing with those weaknesses. If you are prone to any type of depression or discouragement stay far, far away from anything associated with the darkness. The enemy feeds on and breeds discouragement, depression and despair. If he traps you in that it can take a long time to escape. Good for you in unsubscribing from the darkness and getting rid of that app. Way to be ruthless!

    Also keep in mind that we have patterns of medicating behaviors to cope with pain that we cannot see. Jesus wants us to release those medicating behaviors over to Him to be replaced by patterns of behavior that encourage relationship and intimacy with our Beloved. This takes time but if you obey Him He will absolutely lead you in this.

    Great post! May Jesus reward your obedience with greater intimacy.

    Blessings,
    Homer Les
    Uncompromising Faith

    Liked by 3 people

    • I’m glad you stay away from anything close to it and are no longer an addict! 🙂

      “If you are prone to any type of depression or discouragement stay far, far away from anything associated with the darkness.” I’d say yes to this. I’ve had to escape that trap once – I spoke briefly about it two years ago here if you are interested: https://followinghimbesidestillwaters.wordpress.com/2017/02/19/mistaken-humility/ Sometimes it’s hard to see what is truth and what is a twisted truth. Yes, I try my best to stay away from it. 🙂

      “Also keep in mind that we have patterns of medicating behaviors to cope with pain that we cannot see.” I definitely keep this in mind. I so easily do this with gaming and such. I don’t want to deal with how I’m feeling and I will put my all into something worthless just to distract myself until it becomes all I think about. The urge to put more games on my iPod or open games on my laptop is strong.

      Thank you! ❤

      Blessings! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You are absolutely right! We cannot flirt with sin, not one bit!! We can’t play with temptation. We have to be serious about our walks with the Lord and remove from our lives anything that is leading us into sin. And, we have to make it our practice to say “NO!” to ungodliness and worldly passions (fleshly lusts) and to live self-controlled and upright and godly lives while we wait for Jesus to return. And, we can’t do this in the flesh. We have to rely upon the Spirit of God to give us the power and strength to remain committed to purity and to holiness. But, in Christ, by the Spirit, it is possible!! It can be done!! For, that is what Jesus died for, to deliver us out of slavery to sin and to make us slaves of him and of his righteousness.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to wonder what this thing called sin is, and why even “little sins” are so wrong. The movie “Pinochio,” when I saw it as an adult, suddenly was clear. The kids who rebelled slowly turn into donkeys. What was happening is they were transforming, becoming like what they were responding to. The ones who listened to Jiminey Cricket, their conscience, remained honest and themselves: innocent. It is God Who we draw close to Who protects us, for it’s His life in us, from Him and we are happiest with Him, for He is love.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. 🙂 Yeah. As a kid, I liked it as an adventure cartoon. Think the parents can learn more from it as we have a background of experiences. Family talks about listening to your heart and doing what’s right, never mind all that glitters, finding happiness in each day.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.