Election Day (U.S.)

stock-photo-a-spool-of-red-white-and-blue-i-voted-stickers-with-american-flag-are-on-a-blue-voting-booth-415602418

I wasn’t planning to do a post on politics, but I now feel compelled to. I won’t be naming names; that’s not the point of this post. However, it will be quite clear who I didn’t vote for today for president of the U.S. X)

Going on and on about policies and scandals isn’t the point of this post. There is just one topic in the many policies that I want to hit on:

Background: Zacharias and Elisabeth did not have children because she was barren. But an angel of God said they would have a child, and soon, she was carrying John the Baptist. (Luke 1:5-14.) Then the chapter goes on to say this:

Luke 1:5 – 15: For he shall be great in the sight of the Lord, and shall drink neither wine nor strong drink; and he shall be filled with the Holy Ghost, even from his mother’s womb.

Fast forward. Mary was just told that she was chosen to carry the Son of God. She goes to her cousin Elisabeth to tell her the good news:

Luke 1:40-45: And entered into the house of Zacharias, and saluted Elisabeth. And it came to pass, that, when Elisabeth heard the salutation of Mary, the babe leaped in her womb; and Elisabeth was filled with the Holy Ghost: And she spake out with a loud voice, and said, Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb. And whence is this to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? For, lo, as soon as the voice of thy salutation sounded in mine ears, the babe leaped in my womb for joy.  And blessed is she that believed: for there shall be a performance of those things which were told her from the Lord.

How can the Holy Spirit (or Holy Ghost) enter a baby still in the mother’s womb if the baby has no life until it is born? The fact that John the Baptist leaped in Elisabeth’s womb when Mary, carrying the Son of God, approached proves to me that life starts at conception, not at birth. Also, can you imagine what would have happened if Mary had said that she didn’t want Jesus and went to have Him aborted? o_O It is because of this that I cannot vote for anyone who thinks that abortion is okay. I’ll call it what it is: murder. 

“I don’t approve of political jokes. I’ve seen too many of them get elected” (I saw that on a T-shirt and thought it was cute. XD ) and it seems that this year, we have multiple political jokes running for office. But I could not vote for one of them. I had no second thoughts.

 

Photo credit: Shutterstock // Pixabay

7 thoughts on “Election Day (U.S.)

  1. I agree with you, Following Him Beside Still Waters. Too much has been taking place and arguing in today’s economies to where many people are being blind sided from recognizing the truth; in this case, if Mary did abort Jesus, there would be no telling how today’s livelihood would have been… which is why I am so blessed and thankful for every morning that I wake up and can just praise Him for my life. Thank you for sharing your message.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I appreciate your commentary and writing style. It was even more fascinating for me to read your article as I just finished a blog on John on my site. It’s called An Interrupted Grief. Check it out sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am reminded of that passage from (Jeremiah 1:5) which says: “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, And before you were born I consecrated you; I have appointed you a prophet to the nations.” You bet life begins at conception and abortion IS murder! Good post…

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.