An Ode To Spring

An Ode To Spring

I look at all the flowers, eager to please
The attentive eyes.
They come in red, green, purple, and blue.
The pollen falls like snow from the trees
Covering everything in a yellowish hue.
And as I see, I cry
Tears of irritation, and I know I will sneeze.


I wrote this years ago and used it as a signature on a message board; I don’t know why I didn’t share it here before now. 😄 The rhyming pattern is a little different than most things I’ve written, but it was fun to do. 🙂 This is for all of the allergy sufferers out there.

The flowers in the top photo aren’t mine; they were at a local nursery, and I thought that they were so pretty! ❤ You can see more allergy season poetry and more flower photos from that outing last year here. (Yes this has been in my drafts since last year. XD)

This is the pollen index for my state at the beginning of the week. Sadly, it’s at 10.1 where I live. Crazy high. I’m coughing constantly, having drainage, sneezing, my throat is sore… it’s almost like having a cold without the feeling awful part. I think it’s actually trees, not flowers I’m allergic to. But I’m not 100% sure. Whatever it is, I hope the pollen stuff is gone soon. XD

If you want to see the pollen index for your state, here is the website I used: Pollen Index

17 thoughts on “An Ode To Spring

  1. The poem has a fun rhyming pattern! And is very nostalgic, haha. 😸 I found that line about covering everything with a yellowish hue especially creative; love the vivid picture it gives! Reminds me of parking my car under trees in the spring… XD You made me curious about my pollen index; the area I’m in is over 10, too, haha! Glad I’m not allergic to pollen. XD

    Liked by 2 people

      • It’s definitely worth considering! Because of the saline packet that you put in the water, it doesn’t give you that drowning/burning sensation in the nose (I was concerned about it, too). Praying that you’re feeling better now. 🧡

        Liked by 1 person

                    • Kinda. It’s mostly been fixing things that break. Which has been a lot lately. Currently have an air conditioner to fix. X) Besides that, I’m trying to garden, but it is so hot! A lot of plants in the garden aren’t doing well. In the pots they are in they do okay. But I plant them in the garden and then they don’t look healthy. I’m starting to think when our electricity provider hired someone to spray herbicides under the lines, they also hit the garden and poisoned the soil. The apple tree my mom had planted in there also died last year. If it wasn’t for that, the gardening would be fun. At this point I’m dejected because all the work I put in just to see plants not do well or die… yeah, that’s not fun. At least the ones I planted in pots are doing well. I have peppers coming! 😀

                      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.