White As Snow Again – A Short Story

Dogwood bloom

Once upon a time, I gave up my rags of the world and in exchange, I was given a white robe. This robe was the most beautiful snow white. For a while, all was well.

But then I stained it.

Brown splotches where I allowed life to drag me through the mud, and stains that I dribbled on it from when I partook of things I shouldn’t have.

The robe was a wreck.

I felt so ashamed to approach the One who gave it to me. It was perfect when He gave it to me and now it was as dirty and torn as the rags I gave up before.

I thought it was beyond repair, beyond cleansing, beyond any help.

So I wallowed in despair, which was as dark as pitch, instead of going to He Who would assist me, and the robe turned into a coal-black color.

But then I remembered: it’s not about me and what I can do. He has something I don’t.

The ultimate Bleach.

It is Blood from the Lamb Who was slain.

I fell before Him and confessed all that was on my heart as I gave the robe back to Him and He washed it clean with His blood.

I was not worthy after all I had done, but it wasn’t about my worth; it was about His! He saw how pitiful I was and how sorry I was, and when I finally asked, He immediately forgave me, washed me clean, and welcomed me home like a prodigal child.

It became as white as snow again.

And now I go to Him as soon as I realize I have stained it, so that He may use His Bleach to get the stain out, and it was as if it were never there. I wrote down a prayer of thanks…

Cat footprints in snow

I prayed to be found in You,

I was so lost inside!
To You I would confide,

All that was in my mind true,

And all that was on my heart,
Before it tore me apart!

I spilled my innermost thoughts…

How could I even approach You
When I was clearly not worthy to?

I was ashamed and distraught;

My spirit was torn,
Heavily faded and worn,

Stained with pitch,

Covered in wretched sin;
But You took me in.

And with Your stitch,

The scars were sealed,
And I knew that I’d be healed.

I was left in amazement,

You bleached my gown
White as goose’s down!

I wondered where the stain went.

It was once again unblemished;
It was as if it were never tarnished!

I declared with audacity now,

“I trust in You, my Lord;
I trust Your Holy Word!”

I shall therefore vow,

No more hesitating,
No more waiting;

No longer will I waver –

Because of the Son Who was sent;
There’s no more embarrassment,

First, I’ll run to my Savior!


Pure Snow

One day, we will have these robes and they will never stain again. One day, we will not have our spirits crushed anymore. One day, we will be with the Perfect One, and we will not have to worry or feel ashamed anymore, because we will be with Him. And He will wipe our tears away…

After this I beheld, and, lo, a great multitude, which no man could number, of all nations, and kindreds, and people, and tongues, stood before the throne, and before the Lamb, clothed with white robes, and palms in their hands; and cried with a loud voice, saying, “Salvation to our God which sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb.”
And all the angels stood round about the throne, and about the elders and the four beasts, and fell before the throne on their faces, and worshipped God, saying, “Amen: Blessing, and glory, and wisdom, and thanksgiving, and honour, and power, and might, be unto our God for ever and ever. Amen.”
And one of the elders answered, saying unto me, “What are these which are arrayed in white robes? and whence came they?”
And I said unto him, “Sir, thou knowest.”
And he said to me, “These are they which came out of great tribulation, and have washed their robes, and made them white in the blood of the Lamb. Therefore are they before the throne of God, and serve him day and night in his temple: and he that sitteth on the throne shall dwell among them. They shall hunger no more, neither thirst any more; neither shall the sun light on them, nor any heat. For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead them unto living fountains of waters: and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.” (Revelation 7:9-17)

“Come now, an let us reason together,” saith the Lord: “though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.” (Isaiah 1:18)

14 thoughts on “White As Snow Again – A Short Story

  1. How absolutely beautiful this entire post is, Grace! A fantastic story young lady. Yes, we all stain our “robes.” Everyone lives with sin…(1 John 1:8). But the blood of Christ washes His children clean of them, and we need to be grateful for that! We’ll be talking later…

    Steve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

