Color Your World – Shocking Pink: Caterpillar And Pink Blossoms

In response to Color Your World – Shocking Pink: Here is a caterpillar I took photos of last spring, on pink blossoms. 🙂 My goal was to get photos of the blossoms – which was not easy because I don’t like heights and I had to stand on a ladder to reach them – and finding the caterpillar up there was like icing on the cake. God really made my week by making sure that little guy was on the blooms at just the right time. 😊 I just wish I had centered the photo a little better; but in my defense, I was gripping the slightly shaky ladder for dear life with my left hand and my right hand was getting really tired of being held over my head and refused to do what I wanted… 😂

23 thoughts on “Color Your World – Shocking Pink: Caterpillar And Pink Blossoms

  1. Nice shot! I imagine it would’ve been hard to take the photo on a shaky ladder and at night too, right? Whenever I take shots in “precarious shots” I’m always thinking to myself, “don’t drop the camera… don’t drop the camera…” 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂 ♥

      Yes, it was night. 🙂 I wore my headlamp so that I’d have one hand free to hold the ladder. 😂

      Oh yes, definitely! XD My camera has a strap to go around my neck and I try to always have it around my neck so if I drop it, it won’t go far. But the one time I didn’t.. well. X) Fun story… I was in a cemetery last summer and I dropped the camera on the gravel road. The little plastic hinge that kept the battery compartment on broke. After that, whenever I wanted to use the camera, I had to use one hand to keep the compartment closed, and my hand would be cramping up so bad from holding it together. Thankfully, my dad engineered a “fix” – he drilled a hole in a Coke cap and put a screw through it and into the bottom of the camera to hold it on. It’s still like that today. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can totally relate to that. The same exact thing happened to our camera! 😂 Luckily, it wasn’t me who broke it. It was actually my dad, he slipped while climbing down some boulders to photograph some falls in Tennessee. Luckily the camera didn’t go far but the that piece of hinged plastic to hold the battery in broke. We ended up using some black electical tape to tape it in place whenever we used it. The good news was visually you wouldn’t really notice it. The bad new the tape had some stretch so sometimes after a couple hours it would stretch just enough that the battery would no longer be held in place. So I got used to shooting with my little finger hooked underneath put constant pressure on it while shooting. The screw idea would’ve been a good idea, but we’ve since upgraded our camera (because the shutter of our old one went). I guess many cameras are only rated for shutter-life expectancy of between 50,000 and 150,000. (although I’m pretty sure most DSLR cameras can go far beyond that) When my dad learned that, he told me I could no longer make stop-motion films with the new camera. 😂 Even now that I’ve gotten my own, I try to avoid taking excessive amount of photos if it’s unnecessary.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Wow! 😂 I’m also glad your dad was okay! The black tape sounds like a good idea too. I tried duck tape on mine, but in order to wrap it around the camera, it would block the button to take a photo, and the zoom button, the display button, and the menu button, so then I had the camera working but I couldn’t use it. 😂 I’m glad it worked on your camera though – it was only temporary! Yes, I know what you mean – I got used to cupping my hand underneath the camera to force the battery compartment closed. XD
          What?! 50,000 – 150,000? I don’t know if mine is a DSLR, but the camera I’m using is really old. I wonder how many shots it has left in it? o_O I have taken 1,100+ photos this year so far already. (I tend to get very photo-happy during the spring months. 😂) Stop motion films sounds so fun, but I understand the reasoning of not taking unnecessary photos now, haha. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

                • LOL! XD Only classy when it decides to work. 😂 Besides the battery compartment issue, I also have to tap the side or shake it to make the display work so I can see what I’m getting. 😜 I plan to get a new camera this year, but I’m not sure what to get. I know I want one with a decent zoom (this one is only a 3X) and I loooove playing with the macro feature. But besides that, I don’t know what to look for in a camera.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • Yeah, definitely do your research. Often times, expensive isn’t always better. You might be spending extra money on features you will rarely, if ever use. If you can afford it, I would recommend getting camera that allows for the removal of the lenses. But I know they can be expensive (I got mine as a graduation gift 😀). And if you can buy an early model as they are discounted just because they aren’t the “lastest and greatest” (like a car). What’s nice about buying a camera that you can remove the lenses is the lenses literally last forever. Which means if you ever get a new camera years down the road, you can keep the lenses.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • Thanks for the advice! 🙂 I love the idea of getting one at a discount like that. I definitely don’t have to have the “latest and greatest.” My current strategy is to find a camera I like and then save up for it. I know it will be worth the wait! That’s great to know about the lenses! 😀 It would be amazing if a DSLR lens would interchange with the old 35MM SLR lens from my dad’s very old camera. He had a bunch of the lenses already, and he said that if they interchange, I could use them. That way all I would have to buy is the camera. 😀 I haven’t researched it yet to see if they interchange though. Also haven’t found all of the lenses in storage. 😊

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Yes, it’s very possible they would interchange. If they don’t match properly just by themselves, there’s a good chance you can purchase adapters that allow for the lenses to fit on a different camera. If you could do that, that would be great. Lenses really don’t change much, so a good lens 15 years ago is often still a good lens today. Unlike the actual camera body.

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

