Blue Skies

I’m not entirely sure what this is; however, I wrote part of a fan-fiction short story in this style a while back and I wanted to try it with a blog post, so here we go. I pretty much take the lyrics of a song (in italics) and then write what it means to me around it. (I don’t repeat the chorus.) Hang onto your hat (if you are wearing one)!

First, here is the song that inspired this:

I don’t think it was intended to be about Jesus, however, that is how I am taking it so there. 😄

I wake up every morning to another crazy day I have to face.

Even before I get out of bed, I need Him. I know that I can face anything with Him by my side! Even if the day isn’t pleasant, I know that He is there.

And when I’m losing my direction, You’re the one who points me in the right way.

“Lead me, O LORD, in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make Thy way straight before my face.” (Psalm 5:8) I am grateful for the times You correct me when I stray and send me back on the right path instead of letting me wander in the darkness.

You always know when I’m about to fall, it’s like You’re standing there when I hit that wall.

You are the Omnipresent One and You know what will happen before I do. Thank You for catching me. Repeatedly.

Because of You my eyes are open, and instead of always hoping, I have faith today.

I want to see everything that has happened, is happening and will happen! But I can’t and I don’t. But You do. Thank You for opening my eyes, so that I may trust in You.

So thank You for Blue Skies. When my head is down, You remind me to look up.

the-heavens-declare

Your creation lifts me up. You never cease to amaze.

And thank You for all those times You believed when others couldn’t see. Oh, without You, where would I be?

You knew that You could use me for Your glory; however, I never would have thought You would use little ol’ me. But You have. And without You, I don’t know where I would be. I just know that I would be terribly lost or not here at all if it weren’t for You. You amaze me.

I should tell you in a letter, all the things I never said.

And look at me, doing that right now! (Or, a blog post anyway.)

‘Cause when You’re right in front of me, nothing ever comes out how I planned.

But it’s not my plans that matter, Lord. It’s Yours. Sometimes I try to make my own plans and then I fall on my face.

Like the heart in You goes on for miles, and when it passes through me I come alive…

I thank you for the Holy Spirit to guide me. I strive to be dead to sin and alive in You. My heart beats for You.

If I ever learn the lesson, it’s in the first and lasting impression of the way you got to me.

The way You brought me back to You was incredible. The lesson is that anything is possible when You want it to be possible. Thank You, Lord. ♥

19 thoughts on “Blue Skies

  1. I love this very much, Grace! Way to go, you knocked it out of the park. This is something like what I do with Haiku poetry. I take things which come from scripture and put them into a poetry format. Good job once again, young lady!

    Steve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

