Cake For Two

It is week six of 100 Word Wednesday, and here is the photo and my response. If you want to participate, just click the link! πŸ˜‰ This week is 107 words, but I don’t see a way to trim off seven words. πŸ˜‚

Image Credit: Bikurgurl 2016

At the restaurant, I order cake for two
On this Valentine’s Day as a present.
He’s late yet again, but that’s not new.
The cake arrives but he doesn’t.

I stick a fork in mine, trying to get a handle
On this dilemma, and pass the time by
Talking to inanimate objects. I tell the candle,
β€œYou’re as bright as ever!” as I begin to cry.

He stood me up, the lout! But no, I hear a voice sing,
β€œSorry I’m late! I had something to attend to.”
He sits and pulls out a sparkling diamond ring,
β€œWill you marry me?” he asks. I smile, β€œI do!”

67 thoughts on “Cake For Two

  1. Pingback: Wind-Up Week 5: 100 Word Wednesday – Bikurgurl

  2. Pingback: Wind-Up Week 6: 100 Word Wednesday – Bikurgurl

  3. I have a soft spot for rhyming poetry and stories…and this is so sweet, with the surprise at the end πŸ™‚ Cake always leads to happiness πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for writing with us this week and we look forward to what you’ll dazzle us with next! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

