Christmas Short Story Review: The Gift of the Magi

“One dollar and eighty-seven cents. That was all. And sixty cents of it was in pennies.” Thus begins one of my favorite classic Christmas stories from my childhood.

Della doesn’t have much money to buy her husband a gift, so on Christmas Eve, she makes a drastic decision to come up with the money in time for Christmas. I love how the ending is so unexpected!

I read it every December and I enjoy it every time. O. Henry’s writing style pulls me right in.

If you’d like to read it, it is public domain. It looks like the ones that come up first in the search engine are the edited versions, such as this one; the original text was so colorful and vibrant, I highly recommend it. Back then, I didn’t fully grasp a few of the words or phrases O. Henry used, such as “imputation of parsimony”, but it delighted me because it gave me new words and phrases I had to use dictionary to understand. And as an adult, I still enjoy this story immensely today. Here is a link I found that has the original text: The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry It is very short; only six pages long, but it is worth the read, and puts me in the Christmas Spirit. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Christmas Short Story Review: The Gift of the Magi

Leave a Reply

