The Path

I wrote this one a while ago – another poem with an odd rhyming pattern. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend, everyone! β™₯

The Path

Life is a forest; I see no clear trail
I look at my surroundings, I grow pale
I don’t want to do this alone

I am lost, the meaning of confused
The sheep that went astray, bemused
Don’t want to be found and rescued

So I wander aimlessly, held by shadows
Too stubborn to desire escape, spirit too low
But He is there; I am not on my own

The Shepherd takes His staff to lead me
He brings me to green pastures to feed me
He brings me to a fork in the road; I must choose

There is one trail, full of ease
Following it would be a breeze
But it would only be to please us

I scoff at that slothful disgrace
Instead, I turn around to face
Where the path less traveled should be

Don’t want to become lost in here
This path is not always marked, unclear
Which way is the path to Jesus?

I find my way through the wood
I smile, knowing this is good
From that sinful life, I am free

The Bible is my map, He, my Guide
I know He’ll never leave my side
For He is my Savior, my Lord

When I wander, He leads me around
Sometimes lets me face plant the ground
All to bring me back to Him

When I stumble He keeps me from harm
When I fall, He lifts me into His arms
When the enemy comes, He grabs His sword

All we have to do is, in Him, believe
With Him, anything can be achieved
Even when the chances are slim

Psalm 119:104-106: Through thy precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way. Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. I have sworn, and I will perform it, that I will keep thy righteous judgments.Β 

15 thoughts on “The Path

  1. I love your love for Jesus and His Word, Still Waters. Hurray for your beautiful poem! This is not a confusing path. Our fog comes only when we strive to reach God rather than letting Him lead. There’s the hard part – my hubby and I took ballroom dancing for years, and our loving instructor would smile over at me to let me know I was trying to lead… again. We do not live for God; we surrender and let Him live through us. Then the confusion melts and indefinable peace reigns.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

