Be My Guide

It seems that with this one, I wanted to see how many times I could rhyme with “guide” and still have a poem that makes sense. XD All joking aside, here is another poem with a very different rhyming pattern. A couple of lines near the middle is based on 2nd Cor:5:17 (Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.) and a couple of lines near the end is based on Gal:2:20 (I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.)

Hope y’all have a great weekend! ♥

Be My Guide

In this wicked world, I abide

It is a bog that threatens to drown us in quicksand
Jesus, pull me out of my sinful ways, here is my hand!

Please, Lord, be my Guide

We’re surrounded by fog so thick that we cannot see
Take my hand, Lord, and out of this confusion, lead me!

Jesus, stay at my side

Noise is so loud that it’s hard to know truth from lies
Help me, Lord Jesus, hear my pleading cries!

In You, Lord, I confide

You know my heart, my soul, my very being
I know that without you, there is no seeing!

For us, You died

So that we, Your children, can live for You
I believe upon Your Son; turn me into a creature anew!

You were crucified

Like a common criminal, The Innocent One
Was punished for sins we have done

I knelt and cried

From my evil ways, He has set me free!
He, The Only Begotten Son, has saved me!

I cannot hide

The Light within shines though my spirit
I must share the Gospel! People must hear it!

In me – You reside

I am crucified with Christ, yet I live; yet, I live not
For Jesus lives in me; we live by the faith of the Son of God

I lose my pride

When we drive on the road of life alone, we hit potholes
But when Jesus is in the driver’s seat, He steers our souls

So it’s a smoother ride

17 thoughts on “Be My Guide

  1. I feel like one thing I have been struggling with lately is trusting God, despite of the devil’s lies. I like this line: “Noise is so loud that it’s hard to know truth from lies.” I love how you use the word “noise” and “lies” in the same sentence. Lies are like noises! lol!

    One question, what does this sentence mean to you? “I know that without you, there is no seeing!” Seeing what? I don’t quite understand this sentence. I would like to know your thoughts on it. Good job. I enjoyed this a lot! 🙂

    – Carly

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed! 😀 I know what you mean about trust. If I may, Pete made a great Bible study post about the 56th Psalm, where David talks about trusting the Lord; here is a link if you’re interested: https://petertgardner.wordpress.com/2016/12/04/trusting-more-words-than-david/ I’ll be praying for you. ♥

      “I know that without you, there is no seeing!” I was still thinking about “We’re surrounded by fog so thick that we cannot see” when I wrote that; being blinded by worldly ways, so much so that I was blind to all that mattered, including turning a blind eye to all He has done for us. So I was trying to say that I confess He is Lord and that I want the blindfold off so I can see clearly: “In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them. For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord; and ourselves your servants for Jesus’ sake. For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” (Second Corinthians 4:4-6) 🙂 Thanks for asking! ♥

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ll immediately clutch your rss feed as I can’t to find your email
    subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly allow me realize in order that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

