In The Silence

I rarely share a poem the same day I write it. I usually go though lots of edits and revisions. But I will actually be on time today to make The Daily Post for this one. 😀 Like many poems I’ve written, “In The Silence” has an unusual rhyming pattern. 🙂

In The Silence

I sit down to read, and prepare to learn
I take a lungful of air to clear my head
And I pray for wisdom before I start

To know You better, my spirit yearns
I stare at the cover of bound leather, red
I crave to be near You with my whole heart

Open the Book; the gold-leaf trim glistens
Absorb text as from the pages, they unfurl
I’m wholly caught up in Your Word

When I quiet my soul and truly listen
When I dampen the noise of the world
It’s in the silence, I hear You, Lord

9 thoughts on “In The Silence

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.