Review: Violet Raines Almost Got Struck By Lightning

violet-raines-almost-got-struck-by-lightning-9780802720726

Violet Raines Almost Got Struck By Lightning

By Danette Haworth

As the title suggests, Violet is the main character. When the new girl in town, Melissa, moves in a few houses down, Violet feels that her world is turning up-side down. Violet is annoyed that her best friend, Lottie, seems to be best friends with Melissa now.

And with Melissa’s arrival comes change. Violet doesn’t want to hear about wearing makeup or liking cute boys, as Melissa and now Lottie are doing. Violet wants to stay the same. But can she stop herself from growing up?

Even though I’ve already grown up, I liked this book. I was almost shouting at Violet sometimes. Like if she spoke very bluntly when handling a bad situation, which she did often. X) But that’s because Violet is much more headstrong than me.  😄 Or when she used grammar improperly: “don’t hardly”?  o_O Baha, I get that this is the main character’s speaking voice (the novel is in first person), so I can look past that.

I loved that Violet likes to put the Today’s Word section from her newspaper into a shoe box for later. I do that with new words I like as well, but in a Word doc, so I can relate to this.  😄 Also, it was a clever way to weave in new vocabulary words for the younger audience this book was probably intended for.

There was one main thing that I didn’t like: The author felt the need for Violet to use the Lord’s name in vain, repeatedly, which drove me crazy. On a few occasions, it may not have been intended to be taken that way, but that was the way my mind took it. X)

Leave a Reply

